3 “Resolutions” I’m Adopting…Starting TODAY


I’m not a huge fan of new year’s resolutions. In fact, every time I hear people say “I’ll do xxx starting in January”, I am convinced that a unicorn dies. If you’re delaying changing something, the reality is that it’s probably not that important to you and you’re therefore less likely to stick to those changes.

With this said, I do believe in continuous improvement, and the end of the year is a logical time to look at things we can change. Evaluating your habits and getting rid of your bad ones is an essential part of personal and professional growth.

So starting today, here are three things I’m doing.

1 – Chillax!

This might seem like a bad resolution to many, but it makes a lot of sense to me. Although I’ve learned a lot this semester, I sometimes felt very unbalanced and  stressed out.

When I reflect back at this semester, one thing is clear: I’ve pushed myself too hard.  As if doing a part-time coop with SFU Volunteer Services and taking two courses isn’t enough, I’ve taken on new volunteer roles with the SFU Communication Student Union, the SFU Peer Programs, and the Vancouver Board of Trade’s Leaders of Tomorrow newsletter committee.  This is already on top of my role with AIESEC SFU and a project with IABC/BC. The result? A stressed out (and in some cases, a grumpy) me.

Earlier this month, I’ve attended a one-day workshop with Ray Williams. Part of that workshop was identifying my values, and I consistently identified pleasure, friendship and creativity as my top ones.  With my busy schedule last semester, I’ve only hit two of those three values, and that’s really part of why I wasn’t having as much fun.

I’ve also compromised sleep a lot this semester  – and that’s definitely not good.  Sleeping makes for a healthier and a more empathetic you, and so I’m committed to doing that more often.

 

These past three days, I had a lazy day, and it felt absolutely divine. I’ll definitely continue to have days like that. My time is the most valuable commodity I have at the moment. Moving forward, I’ll need to evaluate whether certain opportunities are really worth my time.

2 – Get involved with a non-profit dealing with cancer.

When I was 12, I lost my father to liver cancer. Since then, I’ve also lost a couple of uncles and a grandmother to this horrible disease.  Cancer has already altered my life.  There’s a good chance I’ll get cancer someday, too, and this is one of the reasons why I strive to be healthy and fit.

But of course, I could do more. I got an invite from VolWeb to volunteer for the Underwear Affair this summer, and I had to accept it.

I could also educate others more about cancer.  I tweet a lot about social media, marketing, and communications, but not really enough about health, fitness and cancer. This needs to change asap. Fundraising for this cause is a major “must do” that I have this year.

3 – Write more blog posts.

Blogging is fun. Sometimes it’s a challenge to find the time to write, but I’m pretty sure I can be more effective on this front. Blogging forces me to organize my thoughts and to polish my writing skills some more.

I’ve published a blog post approximately once a week, but I’ve written even more for the ENGAGE blog.  I might need to experiment with videos and shorter blog posts so I can publish more often.

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS?

If you have any resolutions, I encourage you to act on them now. There’s really no point in delaying for two weeks. Want to stop smoking? Starting a new fitness regime? Why do you need to wait ? It simply doesn’t make sense. 

What are your resolutions? Share them in the comments section.

4 responses to “3 “Resolutions” I’m Adopting…Starting TODAY

  1. Yey! an update from KC 🙂

  2. Haha. Thanks, Praise! Do you have any resolutions you’d like to share with me?

  3. I like your second resolution a lot. Cancer has greatly affected my life, taking my father two years ago, as well as countless other relatives. Get involved with the fight as SOON as you can, Kelvin! Good resolution.
    …Also, I LOL’ed at the “a unicorn dies” comment.

    By the way, thanks for commenting on my blog. How did you happen to come across it? In any case, I hope that you continue reading my posts. It’s much appreciated! (I’ve subscribed to your blog as well.)

  4. Thanks for the comment, Robert! I can’t remember how I came across your blog. I think it may have been Twitter. Perhaps via TalentEgg.ca.

Leave a Reply

